Godelievre Louis

Godelievre Louis

Godelievre Louis

Residency Year


Class Year

Class of 2026

Narrative Bio

Hometown: I have never known how to answer this question because I have lived in so many different countries growing up. I was born in the Democratic Republic of Congo, moved to France as a toddler and then started 4th grade in Texas. I'll say Dallas, Texas as my hometown since that's where I learned how to say "y'all."

Undergraduate/Masters: Harvard University; BA in Social/Medical Anthropology

Medical School: Michigan State University College of Human Medicine

Hobbies/Interests: I love spending time with my husband and 2 kids as much as possible. We do a lot of different things together such as exploring different restaurants, playing soccer, and singing! I have quite a lot of fun and get quite a good work out teaching kids in the community the fundamentals of soccer through Soccer Kickers! I enjoy learning about different cultures and traveling. I have probably lived in/visited 9 different countries so far and hope to keep traveling the world! I also enjoy learning different languages and currently speak 4.25 languages. I haven't had as much time for reading but do enjoy reading various genres from classics to murder mysteries but when too tired to read I enjoy watching various TV shows.

Why Med-Peds: I really enjoyed both my Internal Medicine and Pediatric rotations and couldn't see myself just choosing one. I also like the fact I'll get to provide continuity of care for my pediatric patients with chronic diseases into adulthood!

Why DMC/Detroit: Because of the med/peds family of residents and faculty! I feel like the med/peds family here is truly the heart and brain of DMC and well-loved and respected throughout the hospital system. I wanted to continue working with a population similar to the one I worked with in Flint, MI and love getting to care for the diverse population of Detroit including patients that look like me!

Career Goals: So glad I don't have to make up my mind quite yet since I like so many things! Right now, I am thinking a combination of hospital and clinical work although I am also considering doing a fellowship. Only time will tell!

← Return to listing